Ovulation test results - Advice needed!

Claire H

Reaction score
Hello everyone, Im new to all of this but i could do with some advice!

I have been using the Unitest LH Ovulations tests for the past 3 cycles and althought they get gradually darker until day 16 (of my regular 31 day cycle) they are yet to go as dark as or darker than the control strip. (which is how the instuctions say to detect the LH surge) On day 17 the test strip then dissapears and I'm then left with just the control strip.

Is this something that I should be going to my doctors about or do i just accept the darkest day as my ovulation reading?

Has anyone else experienced these results?
Thank you.

I think it depends on how dark it is. How often do you test in a day. You might be one of the women who surges less than 24 hrs so if you test only once a day, there is a possibility that oyu missed the surge.

https://www.peeonastick.com/opkfaq.html

They have great info on OPK testing. Hope this helps.

Just wanted to add that the way to tell for sure if you ovulated is by taking your temps in the morning. A rise in temp will let you know that you ovulated. Just because you get a positive LH surge does not guarantee that you ovulated.

I only take it once a day at about 430 so that is really good advice, ill try doing it twice. Thanks for adding the bit about the temp. I had been doing that before i started on the ovulation test sticks but found that the results were quite random, i thought the prob we me as i am a light sleeper and get up for the loo in the night, breaking my sleep but now im starting to think that it is more.

Hi Claire,

I don't think it's more. I think you are missing you high LH reading. Once a day isn't enough I think. Try morning (after you have been up for as long as possible) and in the late afternoon/early evening. That way if your surge only lasts 24 hours, you will reduce your chances of missing it.