Midwife doesn't think I should take sick leave....

babytobe

Reaction score
Hi ladies,

I went and saw one of my midwives today, expecting she would write me a note to apply for sick leave. She said I wouldn't qualify for sick leave with my symptoms. I asked her what I should do then, as I don't feel like I can do my job anymore. I asked her what she would do, and she said that she's not a good person to ask, because she would just push through to the end. Thanks lady. That makes me feel real good about my efforts (not!).

So here's my situation....

I have a very physical job (I massage for a living). The last 3 weeks I have pushed through feeling horrible at work. My last shift I canceled my last client because I physically couldn't do it.
I don't have any diagnosed issues with my pregnancy (like hypertension or whatever), but when I work I start to feel really ill (shaky, weak, light-headed, and exhausted) soon into my work. The midwife suggested I need to try doing things to make work less taxing, but I explained to her that I've already been doing that since the beginning of my pregnancy! I only work twice a week, I take an hour break at work and have 15 minutes between each client. I snack and eat things to make sure my blood sugar stays level. And I see a chiro and massage therapist regularly to keep my body in OK condition. I believe all these things have helped me to be able to work to to 29 weeks OK, but I'm seriously at the end of my working rope here. I get so exhausted and weak that the days after I work I am totally useless and can't do anything.
I have gotten to the point where I cannot do my job properly, or of I do it properly, I'm so spent that I can't massage my next client.
Not to mention that my last pregnancy I had an irritable uterus and am trying to prevent that this time.

What do you think? Do my symptoms constitute sick leave?