Recurrent miscarriage and recurrent ectopic?

loeylo

1DD, 1 pup, WTT#2
Reaction score
Has anyone else had more than one ectopic and recurrent miscarriages?

I had two mmc, an ectopic (right tube, methotrexate) dd (5yo, healthy and happy!) a chemical pregnancy at 5w and I’ve just found out I’m having another ectopic on my other tube, and probably going to have methotrexate.

They are saying there is nothing that can be done to help me which absolutely sucks. No tests, no follow ups beyond checking the ectopic resolves.

From what I read we have roughly 63% chance of ever having a successful pregnancy, at least 10% chance of another ectopic (probably higher as I can’t find odds of 3rd one) and 40% chance of another miscarriage. Pretty grim reading.

I am no expert on recurrent ectopic pregnancies but I do know that the odds of an ectopic do go up if you've had one. But I want to say it was only for that particular side-if it was a tubal pregnancy. The reasoning my doctor gave is that an ectopic pregnancy in the fallopian tube may have been caused by scar tissue or other obstructions in the tube that prevented the egg from getting into the uterus before implantation. And a tubal pregnancy, even if successfully treated with methotrexate or other non-surgical means, may cause scarring in that tube which could then cause more troubles. But I don't know if I've heard that one ectopic in one tube will increase the odds of one in the other tube. :shrug:

That being said, I think the best way to approach those grim statistics is to look at the positives. There are plenty of women who have had ectopic pregnancies and gone on to have successful pregnancies afterwards. And it's important to remember that these stats are for REPORTED ectopics/miscarriages. Not all are reported if the woman either doesn't find out she's pregnant and/or doesn't know she had an ectopic pregnancy since some of them can end on their own before it's confirmed.